Nominations Open for American Red Cross Salute to WNC Heroes

A volunteer cutting wood on a home construction site.

Throughout our community, ordinary people perform extraordinary acts every day. The American Red Cross serving Western North Carolina needs your help in identifying and recognizing local heroes.

Award categories include:

  • Blood Services
  • Community Impact
  • Disaster Services
  • Emergency Medical Assistance
  • Firefighter
  • Good Samaritan
  • Law Enforcement
  • Military
  • Nurse
  • Youth

All nominees must reside in one of the following counties: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, or Yancey. Nominees do not need to have any current or past affiliation with the American Red Cross.


Nominations are accepted through the online nomination form. The award nomination period runs through November 30, 2020. Award winners will be notified in December 2020 and recognition will happen at our Salute to WNC Heroes ceremony in March 2021.

Nominate a hero in your community, read the full category descriptions, and see the 2020 Salute to WNC Heroes on

All proceeds go directly to support disaster relief in Western North Carolina. Sponsorship opportunities available. If you are interested in learning more, contact Megan Robinson, Executive Director, [email protected].